Event info

Bach and Mozart - Advent at the Symphony – Iceland Symphony
7. Dec » 19:30 Eldborg | Harpa

Johann Sebastian Bach Orchestral Suite no. 3 in D major
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Exsultate, jubilate
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Overture to Così fan tutte
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart “Porgi amor” from The Marriage of Figaro
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart “Martern aller Arten” from The Abduction from the Seraglio
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphony no. 31 “Paris”

Jonathan Cohen

Sally Matthews

Sally Matthews is among Britain’s leading sopranos. was the winner of the 1999 Kathleen Ferrier Award. She has appeared at Covent Garden and at the Salzburg Festival, and regularly sings with orchestras such as the Philharmonia, London Symphony Orchestra, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, and Berlin Philharmonic. At this year’s Iceland Symphony’s Advent Concert, this captivating singer performs two famous Mozart arias, including the Countess’ aria from The Marriage of Figaro, and the solo motet Exsultate, jubilate.

Jonathan Cohen is one of Britain’s foremost young conductors of Baroque music. He conducts his own orchestra, Arcangelo, whose highly praised recordings include Bach’s Mass in b minor. At this year’s Advent Concert, he conducts Mozart’s Paris Symphony and Bach’s Orchestral Suite no. 3, which includes the unforgettable “Air on the G String”.